By Takeo Akagi

Last year, my family moved from what had been my home town for 17 years to build a new life in the U.S. I was devastated when my mom told me that the family would be moving and I’d be attending college in Utah. I was excited, and yet at the same time, I’d be leaving my friends, family, and the only world that I’d known. It turns out I’m not alone.

According to the 2014 Open Doors Report on International Educational Exchange, an annual survey of study abroad trends by the Institute of International Education in partnership with the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. , “The U.S. enrolled a record-breaking number of international students during the 2013-2014 school year, welcoming 886,052 undergraduate and graduate students to colleges and universities throughout the country.”

blue-van

You can read more about my and others’ experience attending college in the U.S. by checking out my social media campaign, On The Move: International Students Attending College in the U.S.” and check out my Facebook Page at: On The Move.

